Claustrophobia by Thomas R. Thomas

Posted: July 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

was it Dad
sending me
under houses
because I was small

or my brother
holding me down
under a blanket
until the panic
gripped me so tight
I lost my sense of being

it could not be water
I still love sitting
at the bottom of
the pool or
gliding under water

maybe I was born
that way maybe
I couldn’t wait
to escape the womb

it explains why I
don’t like to be touched
why seeing pictures
of people huddled
with their faces touching
shivers me

except by my
one lover
and then I
still need
a space
time alone

and why I’m not
afraid of death
where I am no more
or I am so
much more
a spirit
free from
all fear
___________________

thomas Photo by Alexis Rhone Fancher

Thomas R. Thomas likes people, usually one on one, and prefers deep complex friendly conversations. He likes his brother, they are friends. www.thomasrthomas.org

Leave a Reply

